click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:41 a.m. - 2005-05-23
Sausage Kingdom
Hello friends. What's shakin?

I had a very busy weekend. I used a gasoline powered leaf blower and attended a ribbon-cutting ceremony where I was actually the person asked to cut the ribbon; there is going to be a picture of me in the paper, holding a giant pair of scissors and standing between the business owner and a police officer. Yup, Donald Trump opens something and the Mayor of New York cuts the ribbon. You open an insurance agency in North Versailles, and you get Jessi "Chamber of Commerce" Dobos and her obnoxiously gigantic gold scissors and a uniformed police officer who has a wad of chew stuffed in his lower lip. And some kettle corn. You also get some kettle corn. Congratulations Pennie Derbianno. I hope your insurance agency, um, sells a lot of insurance or whatever.

Yesterday I was in my mother's SUV for a total of approximately 14 hours. I travelled in 3 states and saw 2 people I have not seen since January and 4 people I have not seen since December. Kevin and I went to Michigan to get the rest of my stuff that has been at Jen and Brian's house for six months. When I tear open those boxes, it's gonna be like going shopping. I caught a glimpse of a shirt that i haven't worn for a year...it was like winning something. I mean, imagine...it's like going shopping for FREE, where everything fits you and you like it. Maybe this is what it's like to have dementia.

Kevin is a trooper. Kevin has about a million things he could have/should have been doing, like school work and yardwork...but instead, he accompanied me on this somewhat stressful trip on his first day off in weeks and that is super-nice. And we got to have the option of eating something from Jody Marconi's Sausage Kingdom at every Ohio rest stop on the TurnPike. We did not choose this option, but we thought about it.

Matt and Bev made us a yummy dinner and we got to watch some of our cinematic ventures, including "Dance off to Save the Club House" and some of our musical ventures such as "Doobie Sisters, Live at The Front Room." We'll see if Kevin sticks around after witnessing Bev and I singing "Going to the Chapel" a capella wearing scary satanic cult-type robes and with our hair in afros. On a stage. With an audience no less. I think Bev and I collectively were like, an introvert's worst nightmare back then. What the hell were we DOING? But it was soooooooo fun. Do most people have that many movies of themselves and their friends? Kelly, I love that thing we did for the non-Seattle people after you taped the movies on a new tape for matt and bev...when we did the PBS-esque thing with Bethany's weird "i love you" bear. Remember that? I like the part you did after I left where you talked ot the camera yourself and pretty much all you can see on the video is your eyebrows. Yeah, that was pretty awesome.

Does everyone feel like they look horrible on camera? Is it always a bit of a shock to you? Do you think "I don't really look/sound/talk/sing like that. Do I?" But I guess we do, don't we? Oh well.

Also taking place this weekend was my first trip to Kennywood in many a year. Rides that never used to scare me scared the crap out of me....like the frigging SWINGS. I was scared on the swings. Yup. And I almost lost it mentally on this one ride that held us upsidedown for WAY TOO LONG. All I could think about was the sudden accidental release of my shoulder harness and the subsequent SPLAT of my brains on the concrete below. But there is a new super-fun ride called The Exterminator that is a roller coaster in the dark. Roller coasters are defintiely my favorite. Kevin and I both almost barfed on a really horrible new ride called The Big Kahuna that should just be called The Big Pukefest-o-rama. I would highly recommend that anyone who wants to, should come to Pittsburgh and visit Kennywood and me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!