click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:52 p.m. - 2005-05-03
musical complaints
OK, so what is the thing with the radio station that is on in my office playing the same songs every day? For those of you who haven't read my other entries about the office radio station, we can recap by giving a sampling of the songs I can recall happening upon as I enter the office in the morning. I can remember starting my day with "Hungry Eyes" from Dirty Dancing, "Don't Worry Be Happy" by whoever the hell did that song, "Let's Hear it for the Boy" by DeNeice WIlliams, and "Everything I do, I do it for You" by Bryan Adams. Get it? OK.

Now, here's the thing I don't get: They play the same songs over and over again.

OK, think about this. It's an OLDIES station....in that the songs for the most part came out 10-20 years ago. I think, officially, it goes into the "Lite Rock" genre. The point here, however, is that the same songs are on all of the time. Like, if I hear Carribean Queen again I am going to take my clothes off and run around he parking lot. Ok, I'm bluffing. But seriously...I understand that radio stations that have NEW music have all sorts of deal with record labels and whatever...or like 50 Cent will come and shoot the radio station DJ if they don't play "Candy Shop", "Disco Inferno" and "Little Bit" within fifteen minutes of each other every hour of the day....and maybe, just maybe it has a tiny bit to do with what the kiddies are calling and requesting...no? Well, it was a nice thought. I get why new music platforms play the same shit over and over....but do we really have to limit ourselves to Lisa Lisa and Gloria Estefan? How about a little less Billy Ocean and a little more, say, Marvin Gaye? Less Phil Collin, more Sting? Less Rod Stewart and more Madonna? I understand I have to stay within the genre here....when I say Madonna, I mean "Cherish" not "Justify My Love." When I say Sting, I mean "Fields of Gold" and not "Roxanne." We are talking about Lite Rock, here. Wait, why are we talking about Lite Rock? Oh, forget it.....I'm getting my ipod out of the car.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!