click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:44 p.m. - 2005-04-26
I'm a joker, I'm a toker...
So I finally got approved for health insurance. This is very very good news. The first time, I got denied...and so my friendly, neighborhood insurance agent, Jim, suggested I come down to the office and have him fill out my form to make sure it was all done correctly and therefor more likely to get me appproved. Sure, why not?

So I mosey on down to the office. When I come in and give them my name, the front desk woman exclaims that she knows my mother. She is actually the mother of my mother's boss. So we chat. I then accompany my insurance agent who reminds me a good bit of my father back to his office. We begin to fill out the forms, him asking the questions and me answering. Everything is cool at first...name, address phone number. However...here are some of the questions he asked me. You go ahead and think about these and decide if you want a stranger who reminds you a bit of your dad and a co-worker of a friend of your mother's to ask you these questions:

What is the date of your last menstrual period?

Have you ever been pregnant?

Is there any chance you are now pregnant?

Have you ever been diagnosed with a sexually transmitted disease?

How many alcoholic beverages do you consume in a week?

Have you ever experiemented with recreational drugs?

I mean, seriously, people. I don't think my face has been that shade of red ever. I mean, the answers to those questions are not anything to write a scandelous novel about in my case...but geez. What if they were?! I mean, what about people who lived through the 70s in their 20s?? Does the insurance agent ask those questions and the people just kind of smile and go "Dude...let me tell you..."???

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!