click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:45 p.m. - 2005-04-04
good to the last drop
Have you been out to eat lately? How about at a place like Denny's? How about at a place like Denny's at, oh, say 4pm. See, I went there for lunch...but my late lunch butted right up against geriatric dinner hour. Ah, the blue hairs. And their freaking early dinner. I'm still not sure of the reason for this. Perhaps they are bored all day and dinner is, like, an activity. They can officially cash out for the day if they've had dinner..it's like...once dinner is done, there is no shame in just turning in and putting the Pjs on. Or maybe they're just hungry. And then when you're talking about going OUT to dinner...there's the whole "beat the crowds" thing. What is this fear of crowds that happens when you get old. What is wrong with eating dinner in the same room in a public place with a few other people??? I mean, I'm petty sure that is part of the POINT of restaurants. I mean, the word "restaurant" in latin totally means "Eating with others in public someplace near the mall". Ok, no it doesn't. But you know what I mean?!

Cruise by your local Denny's, if you are so moved, around 3:30 or 4, and check out the herd of Buicks that are each as long as your house. If you really have time, kick back and watch them coming in and out of the parking lot. They beep at each other, and somehow manage to get stuck in some sort of motionless "chicken" game ...each one feeling certain the other is in THEIR way. Usually two old men, staring each other down, and their wives looking distressed in the passenger seats.

Once they're inside, seating is complained about, fried fish is ordered and silent companionship commences. Fried fish is consumed slowly. Coffee is brought and sipped at. I am going to have a nightmare tonight about getting old and having to eat fried fish and drink bad coffee. Whoever is around when it's time to turn Aunt Jessi into the convalescent home...PLEASE check out the coffee situation first. Recently ground. Organic. Shade Grown. Thanks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!