click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:03 p.m. - 2005-03-30
Malfunction but not crisis
p>

SO this morning, we had a SERIOUS coffee mug malfunction. Here's how it usually goes in the A.M.

1. Walk to car with lunch and coffee and purse and keys in hands.

2. Place coffee and lunch on roof, unlock door, open door, throw purse and lunch on front passenger seat.

3. Enter car and slide into seat while holding coffee and keys.

4. Place coffee on dash board. (The cupholder is broken. I can use the change receptacle, but only when the car is in DRIVE...otherwise the gearshift is too close to the dashboard, and there is no room for the coffee mug.)

5. Start car. Put on seatbelt.

6. Put car in reverse.

7. Grab coffee.

8. Back out of driveway,

9. Stop.

10. put car in Drive

11. Place coffee mug in change holder.

12. Drive to work.

Unfortunately step number 7 was ignored. And midway through step 8, I realize the obnoxious early-morning DJs with the maturity level of an 11 year old with A.D.D. at an amusement park after 17 candy apples and 9 Cokes and just saw his older sister's friend's boob. I brake to stop and "fix" the radio...as in, put something on that is not physically painful to listen to at 8:30am. As I apply the brake, the coffee, seemingly in slow motion flys right for the front seat, which has my lunch, my planner and my ipod on it. It actually does a perfect lid-first somersault and SPRAY coffee everywhere. We're talking windows, seat, all aforementioned items, my arm, the dashboard.

This is where I make a serious plug for.....

HAVING PAPER TOWELS IN YOUR CAR

That is the only reason this malfunction did not turn into a full fledged crisis. Windex is nice, too. For when the thing that has spilled is sticky. And for bird poop.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!