click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:16 p.m. - 2005-02-24
up-do's and three ways
Today, my middle aged co-worker continually used the word "Up-do" while talking about how her recently graduated from high school daughter was often used as a model by a local hair dresser. I hate the word "Up-do" because it reminds me of sitting in health class in 1994, not paying attention to the teacher, drawing Christmas dance dress sketches and passing them to Jocelyn and Amy and arguing over which salon in the area did the best hair. Other words that i kind of hate, because of this same connection...nosegay, limo, pasties and french manicure. I also hate "Up-do" because it's a stupid word. OK? I mean, it's not in the vein of "loins" or "moist" which we all know can send me into convulsions, but it definitely makes me shudder.

The other day a local politician's assistant or someone came into the office and said the term "Three-way" twice. I actually had to cough the second time because I was "this close" to bursting into full fledge Rolling on the Floor Laughter. Am I in third grade? I know....

When it rains, it pours folks...phone calls, boys, casseroles, shoe sales, deaths, parties and job offers seem to work this way. I had a telephone interview yesterday for an event planner position. They are now checking my references. Hmm. I like my job now. I really do. I just don't know if I can live on this salary. So, we'll see what happens.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!