click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 a.m. - 2005-02-14
February 14th, take 26
Ah, Valentines Day. When you're a generally single person as opposed to a person who is generally in a relationship (whether it's always been that one special someone or you're a serial dater) Valentines Day always comes with a tiny bit of discomfort. Everyone is either gushing about the flowers, candy, diamonds etc. they got or they're bitterly single and complain about how it's a stupid hallmark holiday or whatever. Mostly I just want to hide on Valentines Day. There have been some great Valentine's Days...girls nights out, dates with promising fellows, and then there was that one in Seattle where Andy and I went out and he got really drunk and I met that guy who sort of stalked me for a while. So, it's kind of a hit or miss holiday, and I'd kind of rather just ignore it.

But instead, I choose to embrace the heart-shaped fluffyness of it all. I have a magenta sweater on and a purse and lipstick of the same color. I wore my red coat and put on my special occassion perfume. I'm a walking Valentine for Pete's sake. My own Valentine. Hey, my dad will probably make a really amazing dinner for me and my mom (he always does on the big V-day, and it usually involves lobster.) At least two of you wonderful people will probably call me and make my day at some point here. And I choose to be cheerful and thoroughly enjoy my thoroughly single Valentines day, so there. I'm going to smile and be unusually friendly to everyone I se today because there's lots of people out there who don't have anyone to make them lobster or call them and they don't have the coordination skills to wear the perfect magenta Valentines sweater from Ann Taylor. (tear) So watch out...if you run into me today, you will be hit with Valentines Day cheer like the arrow from the cupid. J-Do...Valentine of the world.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!