click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:44 p.m. - 2005-01-29
all-you-can-peep
"Take this mouth...so quick to criticize....take this mouth, give it a kiss."

I like the smell of toast. OK.

I made it back to Pittsburgh from Athens in like 3 hours. That must be some sort of record.

We are going to Buca De Beppo's this evening for our family birthdays. All of my family members (extended) with maybe one exception, have their birthdays in either May or January. Today is January birthday party day. We have reserved The Pope's room.

Patrick and Sarah and other took me to CiCi's Pizza for the first time, and I definitely did not realize what I was getting into. It was an all-you-can-eat pizza plate. The "bar" went like this....crappy salad bar, lame pasta bar, cheesy bread sticks, delicious pizza, weird desserts. I got in line and the guy behind me who was quite a hefty fellow reached in and got some ice berg lettuce and a few carrots. I wanted to gently put my hand on his and say "Neither of us are here for the salad...it's ok....you don't have to put on a show for me." But I didn't want to discourage him from getting some Vitamin A. The pizza was delicious. Going there more than once a year should be illegal.

Then we went to the Nelsonville Final Friday show. I wish I could describe effectively this one artist's work....ok, I'll try. Inside one of the galleries was a tall box, made out of 10 foot tall walls, about 4 feet on each side, of pretty solid wood. On one side was a "peep hole" and when I stuck my eye up next to it, imagine my surprise to see a man in there, painting. He sort of created this...art out of art thing where he was making a point about avoiding disturbance while producing his work, but making a spectacle of it at the same time. He could only get out with a ladder, it seems. It was pretty cool. The peep hole was designed in such a way that you could see the painting he was working on really well. Oh, and he was listening to NPR which is always nice and always endears someone to me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!