click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 p.m. - 2005-01-18
you only get one shot
Thanks to everyone who responded in the guest book to that last topic. All excellent contributions. BIG fan of that eminem song. You better never let it go-go-go...

OK, so, some news. I was offered a job this afternoon. It's the thing with the chambers of commerce. You know, The Alliance. I asked for 24 hours to think it over. You know, us Christians...we have to "pray" about it. I still am not entirely sure what this specific thing is supposed to entail. Today, I said something like "OK God, thanks for this job offer. Now, send an angel or something if you don't want me to take the job. You have 23 hours and 37 minutes. Peace out." I will say that when I opened my eyes, there was this weird configuration of light on the wall that was definitely not there before...but hopefully God fully understands that subtlty in this sort of situation is NOT appreciated.

No angel so far. 16 hours left.

Do you ever wish (of course you do) that all of a sudden life just became totally unbelievably exciting? Like you were suddenly involved in some sort of...I don't know...rescue mission or something. I mean, even like, a dance competition would be a break from the norm.

I think television is really bad in this way...it causes you to beleive that your life is totally boring and that everyone but you is either trying to survive on an island, risking their life to save a senator from his kidnappers, getting plastic surgery to fix all of their imperfections and backstabbing the shit out of their contemporaries for a shot at some amazing opportunity. Television wants you to believe that whatever your circumstances are...they are unacceptably boring. Is this true? Are they? Are we just settling? Should we all want something more? Or should we seek to find contentment and enjoyment in the little tiny barely perceptable moments that remind us we are human and that there is something greater happening inside and all around us?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!