click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:46 p.m. - 2005-01-16
Prada, DKNY, Yves St. Laurent
Well, what a social butterfly I've been this weekend. Friday night, I went out with my friend Matt, who I went to high school with. We met up with a bunch of the old crew and friends of friends. I spent half the evening talking to this girl, Kristin, who I'd never met before about the strange phenomenon of empty nest syndrome + dog. Her parent's dog has it's own couch. Wow.

Saturday, Kelly and I headed downtown to the Sports Rock, clad in # 86 Hines Ward jerseys (mine courtesy of my mother) and we watched a very exciting game and drank a fair amount of beer. At least Marc and I did. Kelly only drinks Captain and Coke. Then we went with Marc, to the south side to eat. Then, we all had to go and change and we all live with our parents, so we drove all around the outskirts of the city, popping into our various parents' homes to change. By this time, it's almost midnight. We finally got to our destination, this club called "Touch" which was a little weird. We ran into a few people we knew and did some dancing.

Today, my mom and I went to take Gertrude (a friend of my late grandmother) out shopping. She lives in an assisted living facility and doesn't get out much. By the time she told me a few horror stories about the kind of service or lack thereof that she gets at this place where she is paying literally thousands of dollars to live...I almost blew a gasket. The problem is that she's very afraid of retaliation so she won't let me tear those people a new one...I mean "mediate the situation politely." Grrrrrrr.

Now my grandfather is here for dinner and he is complaining about everything being closed on Martin Luther King day. Anyone have any suggestions for how to respond to racist comments from 85 year olds that you love? Oh dear.

Tonight is the Golden Globes. I love watching the red carpet and it is red carpet season indeed. I know it's materialistic and shallow...but it's my guilty pleasure. Like some of you are about chocolate. Or video games. Gucci, Chanel Couture, Stella McCartney, Oscar De La Renta, etc. will be parading down in front of Joan Rivers and Star Jones for the next month or so. Oscars, Golden Globes, etc. I love it. Nicole Kidman always has the best jewlery and Catherine Zeta Jones always has my favorite dress. But Sarah Jessica Parker is just simply fabulous and always has something new and fun on. OK. I'm sorry. No one cares about this but me. I know. But if you're looking for me tonight, that's where I'll be.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!