click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:47 a.m. - 2005-01-01
happy fucking new year
Next year has to be better. It just HAS to. 2004 started off with a tragedy (Grandma died) and stress (being essentially evicted from Diana's place) and ended with a tragedy (Grandma died) and stress (no job offer from U of M) and the middle was mostly taken up with a relationship that didn't pan out, a move that for all INTENTS AND PURPOSES seems to have been completely pointless, and wound down with an entire fiscal quarter of unemployment. Now I have no job and I live in my parents' house.

This has to be some sort of joke. Or maybe it's the precursor to the best year of my life. I am hoping (sort of...you know, like if I can manage to avoid the strong temptation to jump off any bridge I find myself crossing) that one day I will be receiving a big fat important award, or will be glowing with happiness on my wedding day and I will look back on this year and...what? Shudder? Giggle? Understand the whys? If this isn't the end of me, it's great material for telling the grandkids "how tough things used to be."

I went to a fabulous wedding last night. It was really classy and unique and well organized and there were many thoughtful details, such as shuttle service to the hotel and wedding guest gift bags in the rooms that included semi-famous Eat-N-Park smiley face cookies decorated in black and gold...go Steelers. The reception rocked; great toasts, good drinks, the best filet mignon I'd ever had and the dancing was great. Pretty much everyone A. Was wearing something sparkly B. Had a little too much to drink and C. Had a great sense of humor. I swear I laughed all night long. My friends are funny...even the ones from high school. There were 6 of us from my graduating class and some older and younger EA grads as well. We spent most of dinner telling embarassing stories about each other and trying to remember this one teacher's name...Mr. Morris? Mr. Morley? Mr. Morton? I feel that part of my brain beginning to deteriorate. Is anyone else experiencing this???

So, a good time was had by all. There was much hugging and such at midnight and the party went right up until two. I will say a good party certainly can take your mind off the annoying current circumstances of my life falling apart. But only for a little while.

Any new year's resolutions? I think mine is going to be to trust my instincts.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!