click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:03 p.m. - 2004-12-24
ho ho ho
Well, in the spirit of Christmas, and in the spirit of copying Brooke because she's rad and always has good ideas, I'm also giving the gift of shout outs. I kind of feel like poo this Christmas, considering I went from employed and living on my own in the coolest city in the world to being unemployed and living with my parents in one of the world's slightly less cool city's suburbs in a matter of what seems like the blink of an eye...despite this minor setback, which we will now refer to my situation as...I am giving the shoutout gift, without further ado. Now, these are directed at people who I'm sure read my blog fairly frequently...if you're a regular reader, please leave "Santa" a note and just watch the Christmas magic.

Brooke, since this was your idea, you're first. I love you for your great ideas and your outlook on life that is both comfortingly cynical and delightfully hopeful. You are going to be famous. Yes you are. Your razor sharp sense of humor has lifted my spirits on more than one hundred occasions, and you have style that's worth copying. In fact, you are probably the friend whose material I steal the most...don't worry, I always attribute my quotations. If ever there was someone I could partner with to accomplish some totally impossible, undoable feat, it would be you...because A. you're lucky. and B. you work your ass off. and C. you have genius ideas. Go Brooke!

Kels: You're in Europe. I'm jealous. And Missing you. My life fell apart this week and I can't even believe I've made it this far without talking to you and listening to you. You always say reasonable, even-handed, humorous things that bring me back to reality when I'm freaking out. I specifically postponed decisions I need to make until I knew you'd be back in the country. This is how much I value your guidance. You are someone who is in a really important and unique way, truly THERE when you're there. I need that. Hurry Back!

Bethany: You had better be reading this. Our three hour phone conversation the other night probably stopped me from jumping off a bridge. Our connection is unmatched. And when our forces are combined, we can rule the world. It is devastating to me that we are so far away. DEVASTATING. You are hilarious and wonderful. Your husband is a lucky man. If I was a lesbian or a man or you were a lesbian or a man or something, I would marry you.

Ben: The BBC duo is amazing, and so are you. If I had a fantasy football team for life in general, instead of football, you'd be one of my first picks, dude. Talk about a pleasant person to walk the road of life with. You are missed sorely and I've got you and your wife in my sights for future neighbors or housemates or something.

Cat: Sometimes I feel like we fell in love on the internet. Hee hee. You are so funny, sometimes I just giggle from thinking of something you said, with such grace and ease. I love your blog because it's real and honest just like you. Thank you for struggling openly. You are a solid, lovely person my dear.

Patrick: It would be weird, nay, WRONG to work at Good Works without you. You made me think every day and I miss that. I miss hanging out with you and having that brother-sister connection. I like it that you often know what I'm thinking. You are a genuine person to the core and that is a very good thing.

Sarah: Everyone who knows you very very very well puts you in their top three greatest people ever lists. Your individual and passionate approach to things you like is wonderful and makes me wish I did that more. Screw Petland. Critters rocks. Sell it!

Mom: You are a great roommate and I am so pleased that we are finally all truly celebrating Christmas in the same way. There is no greater thing I can think of at the moment. You are a worthy opponent in all things Parker Brothers.

Rob Rennich: Your blog is in need of attention, but you are a top notch fellow anyway. Who you are is comforting and enjoyable to me. I think we will be friends forever. Yes, we will.

Katie: You are the queen of hospitality and belive me, several times these last months, I have just wanted to come over and curl up on your couch and watch television or something. You have a soothing presence. And I love it that you'll talk about anything without getting weird about it. You are born to do great things. I can't wait to see what they are.

Maddog: Neither of us are happy right now. Neither of us are where we want to be in so many senses of that. But we're tough ladies and we march forward no matter how many casualties there have been in our hearts. I know you haven't had anything handed to you on a silver platter, when it seem slike so many have. But you still embrace life with hope and gentleness. Your capacity for avoiding bitterness is to be admired. Good things are coming. They have to be.

Jess M: You ask great questions and see value in people, and make them feel valuable. That is a splendid quality. You are thoughtful and smart...two things that go nicely hand in hand.

Michele: perhaps the most resiliant person we know. You have been through hell, and while it has grown you and toughened you a bit, you're still mushy-comfy-soft. In a really good way. Thank you for being the sort of person who puts others at ease and for being the sort of person who is quick to offer to drive someone home. I like that a lot about you.

Jenny S: Boy, I know you know what i means to live in the unknown uncertainties of life. But you remain gentle and grateful for little things. You are one of those people that has an unexpectedly fabulous sense of humor that is just a gem to discover. Yay for President Palmer!

Seth: Always quick with a little known factoid or to point out the less than obvious...I enjoy that. Your drive and determination to do what you want to do is worthy of admiration. I look forward to seeing how it all pans out.

Jen: Not sure if you're still reading, but the advice you've dispensed on the job front has been invaluable. Hopefully it will soon translate into an actual job. Also, I always laugh when I think of you and the spider in the car, and of course the "mom hand" reaction.

Megan J: You have a way of putting things just right, especially in your blog. You should be Proud To Be Awesome because you totally are. You are a laugh a minute and a good listener and encourager. It would be fun to live near you.

Merry Christmas everyone!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!