click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:11 p.m. - 2004-12-14
loopy
While it is sad and sometimes upsetting to spend time with elderly people in the hospital, I have to say that it can also be pretty amusing when they're on medication.

Yesterday, upon my arrival to her room, my grandmother looked at me and said "Hi. Do you have any halibut with you?" Halibbut? I said. "Yeah. You know, halibut." Nope. Not today. The funny thing is she didn't seem to be referring to it in the sort of way you would request something you wanted to eat. It was more like how you would ask someone if they had a pencil. A few minutes after this she seemed to notice my presence again and said "Hi baby doll." (She always calls me that, so that was normal.) And then about ten seconds later she said, while looking straight at me "Who is this? Do you work for the priest?"

Today, she began inquiring about her granddaughter, Lois. We don't have any relatives named Lois, and when I asked her who she was talking about, she sternly reminded me three times in a row that she has a grandson named John (which is true.) After I had been there for over an hour, she looked at me as though she was very alarmed and kind of irritated and she leaned over and said "Hey, you'd better start wearing some nicer clothes!" I looked over at my grandfather who raised his eyebrows, then I looked down at my outfit...light blue long sleeved shirt (which has been complimented on by at least two people on different occasions) and new jeans. About five minutes later, I went out into the hallway to talk with one of the nurses and when I came back in, my grandmother looked at me and said "Oh Jessica, you look so beautiful. Do you have a date tonight?"

Nope, but I am definitely going out for a drink.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!