click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:34 a.m. - 2004-12-10
maybe not universally funny
OK, time for.....words and phrases that make me cringe. (now keep in mind, they make me cringe in different ways, for different reasons.)

These ones just make me uncomfortable:

-loin
-grind
-nosegay
-thigh
-thrusters

These are words I do not like to have to say in front of other people because of pronunciation issues:

rural
gangsta
folk
polka (as in dots)


These are words that are just kind of gross and awkward:

dribble
slovenly
bulbous
growth
baubles
cockpit
yolk

These are words that belong in other languages, and if you say them right, you sound all worldly and sophisticated and perhaps a little snotty. But if you say them wrong, you sound like an ignorant hack.

croissant
crepes
Grey Poupon
The Louvre
Pico Di Gallo
Porche
Dulce De Leche
Dolce and Gabana
habenara
Fillet Mignon
apparatif
savignon blanc

(I mean, I even took a fair amount of french...you poor suckas who went for German missed out. Yeah buddy.)


Words that are just kind of annoying:

Pal
Gals
Youngster


*Cat contributed mightily to this blog entry from the great state of Ohio.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!