click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:25 p.m. - 2004-11-24
Won't you be my neighbor?
I know I've said this before, but I need to tell you about how friendly people in Pittsburgh are. I got here yesterday and we went out to dinner and did some thrift store shopping. This was mostly uneventful, with the exception of a pretty amazing fluffy off-white coat that I got. But it is necessary to note that all of the service industry people we encountered were very very nice. Apologetic for slow service, quick to point out helpful information and meticulous in recording things that are important when my mother or myself are the customer. We are both a little picky, and can often be heard saying things like "Please don't let any (mayonaise, onions, etc.) even TOUCH my food." and "Can I substitute zuchinni for the french fries?" and "Is it like Buffalo sauce, like REAL Buffalo sauce or is it just Barbeque?" and "Please don't forget to bring me some extra lemons." Our waitress was happy to comply and didn't roll her eyes once. Though I think my father did, when after my mother and I rattled off our Sally-esque (from Harry Met Sally, duh) orders, he said simply "Chicken Parmesan" and handed her the menus. If you can believe it, his was the only order that got screwed up, when she brought him a Bud Light instead of a Budweiser. Then my father went on about how unbelievable it is that you can't get "regular" beer anywhere anymore. OK, so maybe we're a picky family.

Anyway, back to the friendliness of Pittsburgh. So, this morning, I drove to a department store, to check out some suits and business clothes. Each sales associate I encountered very casually said hi. The CASUAL part is important, because there are places like the Safeway in Seattle, where the people are as friendly as the puppets in The Land of Make Believe on Mr. Rodgers *who was from Pittsburgh BTW*. But the people who work at Safeway are almost certainly threatened by the evil management within an inch of their lives if they aren't peppy and welcoming.

Then I was in line with this woman who was being absolutely ridiculous, with her coupons and her returns and inspecting each item to make sure she really wanted it, making sure each time an item rang up that she wasn't over charged. I wasn't in a particular hurry, so I decided to just be patient and wait. The cashier was so nice to her, I couldn't believe it. While my eyes widened with every time she said "Wait, hold on...", the cashier just turned the computer screen so the woman could see it. Then as she was about to walk away, the woman decided she needed gift recepits for everything. If you've ever worked in retail, that is like, the most horrible thing that can happen....someone wants gift receipts when you've already closed the sale....it's like, impossible. It takes an act of Congress to produce gift receipts when you've already completed the transaction. You have to get the manager, and the manager has to get a key of some sort and there's a magic code, etc. A nightmare. But to my amazement, Saint Cashier smiled, called the manager and made it happen. Then she wanted gift boxes. I almost took her out at this point. I come from a heat-packing family. It is by the grace of God I do not have a gun license. I began to fantasize about reaching into my 9 West handbag, pulling out a pistol, putting it to the woman's head, cocking it, and saying calmly, Clint Eastwood-style "Are you sure you need those gift boxes?"

So she finally leaves...my blood pressure regulates. The sales lady is still smiling. The woman in front of me makes her purchase, 3 identical pink sweaters, and as I step up to the counter, the woman who just bought the sweaters turns and says "Oh, I think one of these coupons will work for those", gesturing toward the shoes I'm buying. She hands me her newspaper page of coupons and says "Happy Thanksgiving." The sales lady takes great pains to figure out which coupon will be of most value to me...the 15% off a "ladies fashion" item or the 5 dollars off anything coupon. Later, at the grocery store, a woman pushing her cart next to me just strikes up a conversation. Another woman in passing asks me what the date is as though I'm a family friend she was in the middle of a conversation with. The woman stocking coffee asks me if I need help and I sheepishly inquire about the likelihood of their having any Organic, Fair Trade coffee. She doesn't know offhand, but she pokes around until she finds some for me. In line at the grocery store, the problem of not having an "Advantage Card" holds up my transaction. The check out girl problem-solves with me for a few seconds as I explain I'm not from here and that's why I don't have an advantage card....this "not being from around here" thing really throws them every time. I guess North Versailles, PA doesn't get too many tourists. As this info passes through her fluffy bangs and into her brain and understanding registers in her eyes, which leads to the apologetic "you're out of options" shrug, a woman IN THE NEXT LINE OVER rummages around in her purse and supplies her handy keychain, adorned with little club cards for every retail chain store from Eckert Drugs to Giant Eagle. The Advantage Card benefits are now mine, saving me a whopping 37 cents.

Sometimes the accent hurts my ears and the sheer number of women wearing holiday sweatshirts at the mall makes me a little nervous and the local advertising is so bad you can watch it for entertainment, but how can you not love a town where being kind and going out of your way for people is second nature?

Oh, and if I sent you that email about NPR losing it's funding, it's an urban legend. No action need be taken.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!