click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 p.m. - 2004-11-16
stereotypically unstereotypical
Helllllooooo!

Here is what is going on:

I have a job interview tomorrow. Big interview. Big fun. Yes. And no. But mostly yes. Except for the wearing of skirt and panty hose. Granted if I get this job, I will be embarking on a virtual non-stop ride in pantyhose land. Pantyhose and uncomfortable shoes. Yes!

Michele and company are now calling Lotsky-dog by the new moniker, Fartsky, due to his apparent gas issues. While this does, in fact, border on 4th grade humor, it is still fun and funny to say "Fartsky."

The new U2 album comes out in 6 days. Yes. Six. I can almost taste it. Bono is practically singing in my living room. On the coffee table. With that white corded microphone that is supposed to remind you to buy an ipod. Everyone please mark your calendars for the dates when the U2 2005 tour, beginning March 1 will be in your town, because I, j.do will be descending upon you approximately then. Some people use their personal leave time to visit family, friends and exotic places. I will be using mine to follow Bono around as much as possible.

Does it make anyone else uncomfortable, when you are on AOL IM to see that someone you know is online and NOT say hi? I mean, I do it...but I feel kinda shady. It would be like sitting in a coffee shop, one table away from your friend and not acknowledging each other. But sometimes, it seems easier than saying "Hey, I don't want to talk to you right now, but I don't want you to think I'm mad at you or something." Perhaps I'll start IMing people a one liner like "Acknowledge." And they can IM back "Acknowledgement received and accepted. No offense taken. Carry on."

Oh great. I stuck a tea bag in a cup of hot water like an hour ago and only now remembered it. I know, I know...just microwave it. But I hate microwaving most things, especially things like tea...because in a very tofu-like manner, they take on the taste of whatever was in there before it. Which is especially upsetting if it was, like, a hot dog.

OK, can we talk a little more about microwaving? Here is a list of things you should not microwave unless you plan on bleaching the inside, and letting it sit open for like, the entire day following:

Hot dogs.

Fish of any sort.

Bacon.

OK, meat of any kind.

I guess that's the main thing. Meat.

Things like hot water, popcorn and veggies are innocuous and generally tend not to invade the taste and smell of foods that follow. By the way, my tea is fine even though I microwaved it, but that is almost certainly because the microwave has not been used today.

So, we all like to think that we exist outside and perhaps above stereotypes...but stereotpes exist for a reason, right? I mean, the whole point of creating the word stereotype is to sort of point out that such generalizations aren't always accurate, and that there are some or perhaps even lots of exceptions. However...stereotypes exist for a reason. Have you ever thought that you might be one of them? If you were a stereotypical (blank) what would it be? Ah, the unique and wonderful beauty of self awareness...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!