click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:17 p.m. - 2004-11-11
love and the edge
Well I had 5 hours in a car by myself today and here's what I thought about:

If you really love someone, you can be yourself around them. Yes? Yes. I mean you kind of know that if you know someone loves YOU, then you can be yourself around them. But I think it's maybe actually more about your love for them being tied to your ability to be yourself.

A wise woman said to me recently that every time she sees her husband, she is "so glad" to see him, no matter what and that he is her absolute favorite person in the world. That's nice. Isn't that nice? It's better than nice. There lies great appreciation and admiration.

Also, how about this:

"It is generous to be loved."

The Edge said this in a recent interview and I think he's really got something there. Not so much when you're a kid...but when you get older and beaten up here and there by the world and by people loving each other imperfectly as we have a tendecy to do, I think you...we...I...become less willing to let ourselves be loved...and it becomes harder to convince people that you really want to love them. And maybe you don't anyway. But maybe you do.

I like this line in an Ida song:

"Like it or not, there's part of me in you."

I also like this line:

"What did you miss?!...(in the telling of all this)....And how could you guess that it would ever be like this?"

Mmm-hmm.

Jared Bullis is a great guy who I wish I saw more often. I wish he lived next door to me when I have teenage sons. They would do bratty teenage boy things and I would say to them "You just go next door and talk to Jared." And as they stormed out in that way that teenagers do, I would thank God that he made a reasonably mature man who understands adolescent boys so well.

Apparently someone "owes" me some "property. My name was in my hometown paper as someone who is owed property that has been "inactive" for five years. This was strangely intriguing, but I think I figured out it is a paycheck from January of 1999. If that is true, it is a paycheck from JC Penney, where I worked in the Young Men's Department and briefly dated my manager over the 6-week long Christmas break of my senior year of college. It is probably for like 13 dollars or something.

Also Bono said an interesting thing recently about how he believes Tony Blair was/is sincere in his belief in the war on terror and Iraq...sincerely wrong. However Bono made more of a point of him being sincere and that that is what makes him a respectable person. I guess he means we're all wrong a lot of the time...there's no avoiding that. But there's a difference between lying, cheating, stealing, spinning and simply having a sincere perspective or opinion that happens to be wrong. I love Bono. I could be myself around him.

OK. That is all.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!