click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:18 a.m. - 2004-11-09
happy anniversary
OK. So I'm in Athens. OK. What is it about this place that makes everything alright? Is it conversations with Matt Cooke where suddenly everything seems just a tiny bit clearer? Is it Casa? Is it arguing with the Oates family about whether Bono is AMAZING (right answer) or sucky (very very wrong answer)? BTW, is it right or wrong to download pirated U2 stuff? I mean I'm obviously buying the album no matter what so the $$ isn't the factor. Anyway. Athens always rocks my world. From the burritos to the dollar pints at O'Hooleys to the Kelly I have always loved somewhere in my heart before I even knew her, in her orange-ish courderoys and scarf that her mom made her to the Will Deaton who is still wearing that torn up Superman t-shirt and still being the most loveable asshole I know to the streets that are always safe to walk on no matter what the hour to the string band that plays just loud enough to be lovely and distinct and just quiet enough that you don't have to yell across the table to have a conversation to the delicious feeling of walking into the Cooke's living room that will always feel like home no matter what house or state it is in to passing folks on the street you have recognised for years but don't really know them or even their names. This town is something lovely and special and if you even for one second think it exists anywhere else, you are dead wrong. Believe me. I've been a lot of places. That little blue county in a sea of red gay haters...it's something special and I'm sorry you haven't all been here. When Bono says "Heaven...let's have a bit of that on earth now..." I just want to take him to Athens.

I almost just capitalized "him" when referring to Bono in the way you're supposed to capitalize it when you're talking about God. Hmm.

Brooke is fabulous. She doesn't belong in Ohio. But I hope this time is restful for her. She deserves it. Brooke knows what it means to be through the ringer. I usually like those people best. I like it that every time I hang out with Brooke, there's a new inside joke and a new catch phrase to throw around. I like it that we can each be like "Ooh, you'll totally love this song" and we actually do and we know WHY the other one loved it. Anyway, I once read this book in like 7th grade that was my first and only venture into sci fi novels. There was this world where on e class of people on some planet had taken over the oher people, and they worked the working class people to near death and then when they were like collapsing and whanot, they took them to this spa-like area where they washed them and pampered them and then put them in these comfy sleep-tanks where they slept for like weeks so they could recover and head out into the fields again. I feel like when you live in a city and come back somewhat battered, for various reasons, being in the midwest briefly and particularly with one's parents can sort of be like that. It isn't always, but it can be. I hope it is for Brooke.

In some ways I feel terribly confused right now. In some ways I feel really at peace. It is hard and unclear. But not necessarily bad. I feel like I'm on the verge of answers.

It is my parents 30th wedding anniversary. Yay for committment that really means something through richer and poorer and sickness and health for better or worse and yay for not holding a record of wrongs, for rejiocing in the truth, for kindness and humility and yay for patience and grace and not having to always be right and forgiveness and fun and enjoyment of life and mutual servanthood and teamwork and perserverence and two people who are responsible for making ME. :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!