click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:52 p.m. - 2004-11-02
socks and sniffles and phone sex voices
Don't forget to vote. But why? Everyone keeps saying vote. It seems like we should. Don't complain if you don't vote, etc. I just want everyone to shut up. I will soon have a t-shirt that says "Voters Make Better Lovers." Oh, we're so ironic and clever. I'm still gonna wear it. WIll people find me short sighted? So what, it's cute.

I am in NYC. So far the day has been spent shopping in cheapie Village stores with such wares as 8 dollar sunglasses, feather earrings, which Brookelyn bought a pair of, tights and knee high socks which I bought two pairs of and t-shirts that say things like Jesus Loves You But Everyone Else Thinks You're an Asshole. That was super funny the first time I saw it. We also drank Starbucks delights and have subsisted on things like bagels and pizza which seem to be New York diet staples. We have also been monitoring the election day activities on MTV and the various news networks. John Kerry is in the lead folks. We will be heading to a comedy club tonight to see what happens on the big screen.

I realized on the way here from Pittsburgh that I was having some serious PMS issues, as I have cried three times in the last two days, over nothing worthy of such drama. Sorry, Mom.

New York is a fabulous place. I still might live here someday. The smallness of space and the high prices are shocking at first, but I'm already used to it. Hey, you can always get your nails done on the cheap in big cities...at least we have that. Brooke and I have lost our voices, or at least our voices have morphed into raspy, throaty sex goddess voices. Perfect for two recently single ladies who are painting the town red. We sound like we're selling something illegal and it isn't drugs.

Sometimes SNL, Seinfeld, Democrats and bagels in a small apartment on the upper east side of Manhattan with people who you think are hilarious is just what the doctor ordered. Sometimes it is important to be understood. Sometimes you have to stick with what you know even if it's far away and strangely unfamiliar.

<

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!