click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:47 p.m. - 2004-10-15
in a garden state
And all God's people said....Word Up.

I just got a bunch of cds, courtesy of Collin. Here is what I got

Joss Stone
The new Wilco album
Stereolab
The Garden State soundtrack
Aretha Franklin (best of)
The Beattles Anthology
Janet Jackson (Damita Jo)
Robbie WIlliams
U2 (a single I didn't have)
Luna
2 10,000 maniacs cds I once owned

All in all, it was a good trip to the music store...2, actually. A store called Encore records where the dudes who worked there were just rude enough to feel just about right for a record store, and Borders, where I asked two people who I thought worked there but didn't, where the Wilco album was. (Pop! Can you believe it?) I felt bad thinking they worked there, but they all seemed reasonably pleased by my mistake. This took me back to early high school, when my mission in life was to be the Gap poster child, and inevitably every time I went in there to scour the sale rack with my pockets filled with money earned by guarding the lives of old people doing the slowest laps imaginable in a pool, someone asked me for help with their search Reverse Fit button fly jeans. Ah, those were the days.

The perfectly crisp fall weather has shifted to chilly wet nast.

What a strange time in my life this is. I am a girl, interrupted. But in this, somehow, there is purpose. Just haven't found it yet.

Kelly says that we should live the best possible lives we can. So does Oprah, but I think they mean it in slightly different ways. I believe she's right. I'm trying to find the road that has the least amount of giving up, the least amount of settling, the least amount of cheap experiences...the most amount of fun, the highest potential for adventure, the most interesting ways to serve God, the highest concentration of laughter, the most amount of love to be taken and given, even if it's hard to do both, the realest people, the greatest potential for growth....the most PURPOSEFUL path I can find. I'm reminding myself, in telling you. The Garden State soundtrack makes you believe all these things are totally possible. Crank it.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!