click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:55 p.m. - 2004-10-04
a good solid entry
I think I like this not having a job thing. I mean, I'm sure I'd get bored after a while, but I've had a full day...I slept in. Woke up, showered, had a delicious breakfast/lunch of cucumbers and tomatoes straight from the Baird garden and toast made of Asiago cheese bread. There are few things as delicious as that. Try it.

Then I went to the bank. And opened an interest gaining checking account. Well, isn't that dandy. Didn't know there was such a thing. Go Key Bank! Although I'm convinced the dude who worked there, who will henceforth be referred to as crazy hair man, tried to confuse me into opening two accounts simultaneously for absolutely NO REASON. Good thing Jen was with me...I may have been swindled unknowingly. You know...this whole upselling thing is really beginning to irritate me. The car rental place tries to sell me expensive gas, unneeded insurance, blah blah blah...Target wants to get you to open a credit card...the guy at the bank wants to impose TWO accounts on you instead of one, which clearly meets my needs. AND, since I don't at present moment have a job, he put down HOMEMAKER as my job. Um, hello. I have my nose pierced. I'm 26. I don't even have a plant to take care of. Wait, wasn't I just saying how I was enjoying the whole not having a job thing....well, I'm far too distressed by that word to ever BE one. So anyway, back to crazy hair man. Oh yeah, AND he tried to get me to buy the fancy PRINTED checks, instead of the normal ones. Note to all: Getting the checks with designs on them communicates...something. I mean, he showed me the Spongue Bob Square Pants checks. Hellllooo? What freak is going to get those. Hmm, let me think. If Mr. Cantoni got them, that would be kind of funny, and not because his name is Bob...just...because. I mean, I think it would be kind of funny for me to get the checks with, oh, say...kittens on them. But the sort of people who would see them aren't the sort of people who are likely to understand why that would be funny. Is anybody feelin' me out there? I mean, what is the deal with the checks? Do people go around and think to themselves, you know I really REALLY like kittens, so I'm gonna pay the extra five bucks and get those on my checks so everyone knows I like kittens. I have always assumed it is for the benefit of OTHER people...like, look, see my pretty kitties, I like kitties. But maybe it's for THEM. Like, I like them so mujch I want to look at them while I do my bills. I mean, I guess these are the people who wear the puff paint kitten sweatshirts and have the kitten bumper stickers that say have you hugged your kitty today? Are THOSE so that other people know about their feline fetish or is it for their own enjoyment? Maybe they're sort of forcing the idea onto people, especially with the bumper stickers.

Actually, I think I have an idea. They should start printing checks more along the lines of bumper stickers. There should be checks that say "Bush Sucks" and "Jesus Loves you; Everyone Else Thinks You're an Asshole" and "All Who Wander Are Not Lost" and wait. Wait. WAIT. I hate bumper stickers. This is a terrible idea. Nevermind. I think I've mentioned this before, but the only bumper sticker that is worth considering putting on your car is: If You're Not Outraged, You're Not Paying Attention. I think kelly pointed that out to me. It's good. but I'm still not putting it on my car. I'm also not putting the Jesus fish sticker on my car, because every time I drive poorly, cut someone off, or make the "I'm yelling at you like an Italian" motion as someone...they'll just think "There goes another jerk Christian." I'm too irresponsible to advertise the Lord during a first impression. Maybe that's what my bumper sticker should say.

SO I opened a checking account, came home, straightened up a bit, talked to Bev, Lindsey and my mother. Have I mentioned my mom rocks? She (and my dad, who also rocks) sent me a great move-in package. Complete with trouser socks...which I needed TODAY. And shaving gel and candy. These are good parents. Who doesn't need shaving gel? If you don't, you haven't tried it.

Then I waited for the girls to get off the school bus (ooh, I DO sound like a real homemaker, don't I) Then I baked some bread from scratch, just kidding. I fed them a snack of Cheeze-Its and Chitos and Vanilla Wafers, oh no, sorry 'Nilla Wafers. What the crap is up with THAT? They can't spare the room on the box with the "Van"?? I hate saying that out loud for the same reason I can't order the "Feta is Betta" bagel at Bagel St. Deli, even though it is delicious. Oh, and milk....they also got milk. I am a health conscious babysitter...and then we went to Choi Kwon Do class...which was interesting. I got a flyer for the Adult Kickboxing class. That might be my "I got a job" present to myself. Then we came home and ate dinner and Collin came over to continue fixing my laptop and to work on the Baird's basement. And he is sick. Maybe he's secretly a superhero. He wouldn't be like one of the obvious, ultra-famous ones...he'd be like....Fire Man or Invisible man or somebody who didn't have a lot of drama going on but was probably saving the world quietly someplace while Batman and Superman were having a fight over catwoman or something.

At one point in the evening, Jen, Collin, Brian and I were all in the same room, each on our lap tops, and Jen and I were IMing secret messages to each other. It was nerd-o-rific fun. Now it is past everyone's bedtime....but no one seems to be heading toward bed. But I have an interview to prepare for tomorrow. Keep your fingers crossed folks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!