click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:16 a.m. - 2004-09-15
we all scream for ice cream when we get kidnapped
Greetings friends. Let's start with a weather report. I am happy to inform you that the weather in Seattle is just lovely this time of year...cool (low 60s) cloudy but no rain. Zero humidity. I love September.

What else? Oh, I now have a weird bump on the very back of my tongue that seems to be related to my still sore throat and swollen tonsils. Great. Back to the doctor today. They're really getting to know me now. But the good news is that my conjunctivitis is gone. No more mornings where my eyes feel like an Everglades swamp. Blech.

My iPod now has at least one cd on it, which happens to be a Katie Myers Special. B-sides, U2. Yay! As for the rest of the 20 GBs, for now, I'm at the mercy of Ben Cape...hmm, I can almost hear Wilco and Iron & Wine now...

I'm glad everyone has been sharing their kindergarden safety stories. I thought I'd tell one...so one day when I was about 6, I was tired of playing alone, and was getting dangerously bored, so I decided to lie to my parents and tell them that two people in a car had tried to get me to get into the car with them. This was completely and totally untrue. I made up descriptions and everything. My parents called the police and an officer came and I lied to him, too. The policeman and my mom were pretty much on to me once he started baiting me, asking questions that I was almost certainly unable to know the answer of, to see if I'd make something up, but my father, ever the advocate of his little princess kept saying things like "Well, she could have seen the man's shoes from outside the car...they might have been really big windows." I wonder what sort of denial I will venture into when I love someone that much...actually, since I have a particularly front seat view of the heart's capacity for deceit, I will probably never believe my children. Anyway, I think all those safety videos and public service announcements are to blame. I never could have thought of that myself if I didn't have all these images in my mind of scary men trying to steal you. Did anyone ever read the book "Ice Cream isn't always good"? It's a very mild story about a little girl who gets kidnapped and calls her parents from the house of her captor, who lured her into his clutches with delicious ice cream.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!