click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:20 p.m. - 2004-09-03
Friday Night at Casa de Baird
Greetings friends. I am writing from Michigan. They have the internet here, too.

I am eating cucumbers fresh from the Baird's garden, Kerrigan and Darby are watching a cartoon movie in Spanish...I wonder, are they learning any spanish from it? Jen is on the phone, presumably with Collin, who is supposed to be running, showering and coming back over here to hang out and watch Kill Bill. Brian just got back from an errand. Brian is sick, or maybe just very very tired. He teaches children how to not hate math all day and then teaches other children, generally male children how to run around after an oblong-ish shaped ball all afternoon and sometimes into the evening. He deserves to be tired. I'm tired, just thinking about both of those things in the same day. Jen appears to spend her day driving and talking into her cell phone. I think she drives to meetings, actually I know she does because I went to part of one today...but then again, maybe she just drives. Someone has to stimulate the economy via the gas pump. She's just doing her part. I think Jen is tired, too. She may have even fallen asleep with the phone to her ear. Collin, it seems also drives around a lot. From what I know, he plays with metal things, and drives around where Jen tells him to. This requires ten plus years of post-secondary education and people seem to be willing to pay a fair amount of money to encourage you to do this.

OK...in reality, I am learning in small bits at a time, mostly through overheard conversations and people's seemingly sensible opinions and the direction these companies seem to be going in...Jen is a brilliant business woman and my boyfriend is a top notch engineer. They are the Bonnie and Clyde of the Ann Arbor small business community. I quite like being in close proximity to this. Now, I just have to find a job. Introductory emails, interviews, follow-up emails, thank-you notes with, well, now we're up to nearly a dozen people (one of whom I interviewed with today...she planned a PR event during the Clinton administration that took place at the White House and included Hilary as the keynote speaker)...now she's passing my resume along and hopefully leading to other contacts that will eventually resul tin that perfect match which we will conveniently and descriptively call a JOB....I actually need a spreadsheet to keep track of this stuff. I was thinking it in my head, almost as a joke and then Jen said it out loud in all seriousness. A spreadsheet. OK. Excel. Yes. Go.

Bye.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!