click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:42 a.m. - 2004-08-26
the haves and the have nots
I have the bass line from the Daft Punk song "Around the World" in my head. I wish there was a way to put a quick sound byte in my blog, so you could click and listen to what I'm talking about...I'm sure some people know how to do things like that....but people like me 1. don't have the patience to learn how and 2. don't have enough equipment or memory or band width or whatever to make it happen. Ah, technology. The gap between the haves and the have-nots. If you really wanted to turn the economy upside down, you could go into the inner city schools, take the poorest, least educated, practically dropped out kids, and teach them how to do something that the country would suddenly become dependent on...in the way that we're "dependent" on gasoline, or lattes. Like, if you could have predicted the Starbucks caffeine tidal wave, somebody should have sealed up the secret to pulling espresso shots, and only taught it to the "least likely to succeed." It's sort of like being a drug dealer, but it's legal.

Speaking of caffeine, raise your hand if you can tell I haven't had my coffee yet. I'm fuzzy fuzzy fuzzy. I'm leaving for Michigan tonight. Yay and yay. My coworker gave me a trashy paperback novel called "Envy" for the plane ride. The back of it says "FUll of twists and turns, right up until the SHOCKING finale." Hmm. I'm sorry, Sandra Brown, author, but once you've become a die hard 24 fan, NOTHING is shocking. I'll see your crappy little plot twists coming a mile away. Your heroine is no match for Jack Bauer or Tony "Soulpatch" Almeida.

OK, I'm sorry, I'm rudely excluding the non 24 fans. I appologize. But seriously, if both I and Robert James Cantoni like something, doesn't that make it sort of universal....you'll love it.

Anyway, we're having some big meeting. I have to show up, looking perky, so everybody out of the way. I have some coffee to ingest.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!