click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:23 p.m. - 2004-08-05
Elizabeth Taylor
Ooh-ee-ooh I look just like Buddy Holly.

My, that's a great song. Weezer makes me think of Patrick.

The movie, The Village, is so good. It will scare the bejeebers out of you. Or the Bee-Gees out of you. Whatever. It's scary, go see it.

Why is it that every other band or event in Seattle advertised by poster-on-telephone-pole has the F-word in it? F*****G Awesome Festival. The F*****G Chachis. And so on. I saw those two on one telephone pole today. You know some of those poles are so plastered with layers and layers of posters, you could use it like a boxing bag. It makes me sad when they strip them. What if they just let them go forever...those crazy indie rock kids with their extra powerful staplers and their man purses full of flyers. They'd get so thick around that you'd have to run from one side of the pole to the other to look both ways to cross the street. Does that visual make sense? Anyway, I'm all in favor of throwing the f-word around when you mean it. It gets people's attention. It's really funny a lot of the time, like when Kelly says it in her surfer dude/frat boy voice. Ooh, what if she paired that with that hippie dance thing she does when she tucks her hair behind her ears....that's so good.

Anyway, back to the f-word usage. Notice I'm not using it here. It makes me feel like I'm in second grade, when every group, band, club etc. has to name their event using the f-word. Actually in second grade was when I first learned the f-word. Some kid said it and told me it was a bad word, and since I'd never heard it...ah, the verbal shelter of no older siblings...I didn't believe him. As a side note, his name was Sean and I thought he was a girl. So Sean insists it's a bad word, so I marched up to my reading teacher after lunch and asked quite innocently "Mrs. Taylor, is Fuck a bad word?" Not only did I ask it innocently, but with that tone of voice that communicates "This idiot over here is trying to put one over on me and I know it's not true, and I've only involved you because I know you'll set the record straight and prove me right, so if you could just concur with me so we can all move on with our lives, that would be great." She, to her credit looked only mildly flustered, and said "Yes it is Jessica, and nice little girls don't say that."

Well then.

Her name was Elizabeth Taylor, by the way, and she was a great teacher.

That is all.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!