click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:15 a.m. - 2004-08-05
news of the weird
Today

I spilled coffee on myself.

Received the suit I ordered and the arms are about a half inch too short to be passable. This is bothersome.

Arrived late to work...but my boss is on vacation...sweet.

Read about that crazy lady in Washington (just a few dozen miles from here) who got it on with her 13 year old student and got pregnant with his baby twice, AFTER she had been arrested and promised not to do it again and WHILE she was married and had several children of her own. Supposedly they (the former student and former teacher) are still in love. She is in her 40s and he is 21. But a condition of her release is a no contact order. Katie, my law school friend, or Cat, my other law school friend...if both parties are now consenting adults, can there be a no contact order?

I listened to NPR's Steve Share (local show host) who I have met and who seems like the kind of guy you'd like to be your kids' uncle. I usually don't get to listen to Steve, because he comes on at 9 and I am already at work...but this morning, because of the suit thing, I was late. He had some typical guests who are wildlife experts, etc. and they were talking about mountain lions encroaching on our subburbs. This was boring and so I switched to K-rock for about one second, because apparently at 9:30am, they still have the horrible foursome of immature morning DJs who cackle insessantly over jr high-esque double entendres and make farting noises. Geez.

A quick scan of the rap station (unless they are playing Beyonce, "Fity" or Lil' Kim, I'm out) and the pop station that WILL NOT STOP playing Usher 24/7. "These are my confessions...blah blah" Shut up. You cheated on your girlfriend, you're a big jerk. We're sick of hearing about it. Can I get a little Vanessa Carlton (has she done anything since that one song) or some Maroon 5? Of course I settled on KEXP, which is always good. It's just that I've never heard 90% of it. Sometimes you just want...familiarity.

Also on the drive to work, I saw a soccer mom give another soccer mom the finger...their SUVs were facing off. each wanting to merge onto the highway. Their news anchor haircuts remaining perfectly in place, their big sunglasses gleaming, their swooshy running suits hugging their former cheerleader bodies...They glared at eachother, one beeped a horn, and the other, decidedly raised one perfectly manicured hand, assumed the offensive position, and shook it angrily in teh direction of the other who nodded her head in that "OH, real MATURE." way. Oh my.

I thought of an invention. I think it woudl be nice ot have an option on cars, where there is a little string that you pull and on both the wind shield and back window, you have a selection of little flag-like signs that say things like

"Thank you!"

"You are a big jerk."

"Your lights are on."

"Can I get over please?"

Apparently in Japan they are mking cars with front grills that have the capacity to make "facial" expressions of anger or apprecition. I like my sign idea better.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!