click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:41 p.m. - 2004-07-27
the trouble with shoes...
Yesterday, I fell off my shoes.

For those of you who don't wear heeled shoes much, this is likely a foreign concept...let me explain. If your foot gets sweaty or sometimes, if you set one foot on a sidewalk crack, and one side is lower than the other, what can happen is that you just sort of slide off the shoe and topple over. You can actually fall all of the way off, exiting one shoe, and usually biting it entirely, (highest embarrasment factor, but likely to actually draw sympathy from bystanders who may be concerned for your well being) or if you just kind of get stuck in the shoes, you can twist or even sprain your ankle, that is, if you don't fall all of the way off. Goodness, this sounds so ridiculous...

This happens to me about twice a year, and it happened yesterday. Right in front of a restaurant window. I exited the shoe (I love that term) and somehow managed to not fall down.

Then, today, if you can believe it, different pair of shoes, mind you...I got one heel stuck in a sidewalk crack, and was forced to take an entire stride without said shoe...I turn around, and there it is, in it's black and white cuteness, looking abandoned and forelorn. This time, I was in front of a coffee shop window. Sigh. I had to actually bend over and, with my hand, pull it out of the sidewalk crack. It was stuck in there good.

The really bad thing about this kind of situation is that people just don't seem willing to share the moment with you and kind of chuckle or whatever....people pretend not to notice. I think people do this out of politeness, but come on. Let's all enjoy the moment together....it's funny! Ah, sheepishly looking around (fruitlessly) for someone to share the moment with...a lighthearted, observant soul to make a snide, self-deprecating comment to ....but alas, Seattle has only a few such people, and I'm friends with all of them. Makes it unlikely for them to be randomly wandering the same street as where my embarassing moments occur at just the right time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!