click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:04 p.m. - 2004-07-25
material girl
So, I'm getting rid of things to prepare for my move. In my mind, I always have less stuff than I actually possess. SO, whenever I prepare to move and go through this "get rid of everything" ritual, I have this strange feeling that I'm sorting out another person's things. The person in question must be insane, because why would I, a sane person, own 6 pairs of flip flops, for example? The black padded ones for reasonably comfortable walking, the velvet black ones for post-pedicure footwear (no closed toed shoes for one hour!) the brown ones, because well, you can't wear black with everything, the trendy black ones with the silver bottom that can pass for dress-up, the sequined pink ones (impulse buy) and the sequined green ones...too adorable and too on-sale to pass up...oh dear.

Then there's the jackets. This is going to be riduclous, so hold on to your hats...The pleather trench that I decided I hate one day after I bought it (it was only seven dollars), the jean jacket that I love and wear every where, the floor length fake fur fringed denim one that is too "diva" for just about every occasion, except for the imaginary one that I bought it for which has yet to actually take place, the mountain man heavily lined and padded courderoy jacket that I only wear outside my house when I'm talking on my cell phone in the dead of winter (because my cell doesn't work inside), the grey fleece zip up, the cotton red zip up, the blue down lined jacket that Bev gave me five years ago that isn't particularly flattering but is very comfy and everyone comments on how much they like it on the rare occasion I do wear it, the black pea coat in which the lining is seperating itself from teh rest of the item but is otheriwse in good shape and is very necessary for obvious reasons...everyone has a black pea coat right? Then there's the ski jacket...and the other ski jacket. And the FABULOUS red trench I just bought. And the army jacket I never wear. And the vintage black fur-ish, very fancy short coat I bought in Detroit that is rarely appropriate, and has sleeves that are just a smidge too short. It's sick, I know. I KNOW. And I'm trying....really trying to get rid of stuff now. It's just that I know as soon as I get rid of one, I will absolutely NEED it the next week...that always happens.

Mind you, none of these items cost very much money, with the exception of a couple of things that are obvious investments, like the pea coat and the red trench...I've gotten five years out of the pea coat, and counting...

I think I am going to get rid of the pink and green sequined flip flops. I think...there's nothing like imagining yourself carrying these things from house to car to train station to car to house to motivate you to start early and slowly, less painfully downsize, parting with items that have dutifully and stylishly decorated your closet, ready to be worn at your beckon call...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!