click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 p.m. - 2004-07-24
manny-kin.
So, I've decided to travel by train to the midwest. After considering many options, it seems that on both the economical and the fun factor scales, this is the best one. What will I do on a train for 48 hours?

Suggestions are encouraged in the guestbook. The obvious ones are reading, movies (apparently there is amovie train) and meeting other travellers. I hope my cell phone works. You can all call me, and I can tell you about all of the cows I see out the window. What if the train hits a cow? Or anything? Do trains stop for a break of any sort? Pick other people up, etc? Or is it a straight shot?

Have I complained yet about how freaking hot it is here in Seattle? Record highs today. Gross. Everyone is sticky and moderately cranky. I am spending most of my time in restaurants and movie theaters this weekend. Today I saw the Bourne Supremacy. I give it a solid B.

Anyway, back to the heat wave thing. I tried to buy a fan today. No such luck. Every store in Capitol Hill was sold out of fans. This is a serious problem. I have resorted to going to bed with a ziplock baggie of ice. I don't really sleep in weather like this, so it's more like I toss and turn, and move the ice bag around to whatever body part feels most uncomfortable...but then I have that feeling you have when you sleep with a puppy or a baby and you don't want to roll over on it...you don't really sleep. So, basically I'm not sleeping. This is really bothersome. I very nearly decided to check into an air conditioned hotel last night. That would be so great. Tonight, I considered sleeping outside...but I'm afraid of spiders.

This is a special shout out to Merilee, who will most likely forget all about the conversation we had earlier, but when she sees lemonscarlet on her computer history, perhaps she'll remember and come and have a look around.

Sorry I don't have anything more entertaining to share. I saw a guy passed out on the sidewalk earlier today, and thought for sure it was maniquin until I got right up next to him...then those seconds of uncertainty were really creepy and alrming..is it a person or isn't it? is it a person or isn't it?.....I half expected him to jump up and scare me...but he didn't. He was very drunk.

I cannot spell the word Man-i-kin. Sorry. Goodnight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!