click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:15 p.m. - 2004-07-22
slightly and publicly disgruntled
Okay, so I'm having an issue with beverages being too hot for my liking. I'm really done with the whole "waiting for coffee to cool down" thing. You know how when you get older, you just kind of stop doing things...like my mom's friend finally stopped wearing high heels every day when she turned like 40. And you quit dyeing your hair and just let it go grey. And you become willing to wear sweatpants in public....these things are all "signs." Well my first sign is that I am just done with the whole wait twenty minutes or burn your tongue off thing.

Interestly and frankly, unusually, I found a solution (usually I just bitch about this sort of thing, blogging about it, releasing the problem to the internet gods, and feeling justified in being slightly disgruntled....that's all that those of us who blog want, anyway....to feel able to be slightly and publicly and justifyibly disgruntled.) OK..bringing it back...so, I found a solution. When I get a latte, I just say "Stop it at 130." Now, as any barista worth his or her salt will be able to tell you, what this means is: "Please froth my milk only until it reaches the temperature of 130 degrees, instead of the usual 160 degrees." This is a delightful solution for lattes....though I will say that Kelly told me it's too high manintainance and kind of annoying. I counter that with the following: I am paying 3 bucks plus tip for some caffeine and milk mixed together....I will order it exactly as I want it.

Anyway, it's a delightful solution for lattes, but it does not work for coffee....you can't request that a coffee maker "stop it at 130." The water needs to be hot to draw the coffee-ness out of the grounds....grr.

So, there. As usual, I get to be slightly and publicly disgruntled. In this case, I am not looking for a solution thank you...they're lovely when I discover them on my own.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!