click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:43 p.m. - 2004-07-16
this is the rhythm of the Knight.
So, today the Queen of England "knighted" the dude who invented the World Wide Web.

I've decided that you don't have to be the queen to start knighting people.

Or maybe you just have to be the queen of something very small, like this blog for example.

So, since I'm the queen of my blog, I'm going to start handing out Knight titles at will.

First up is Jen Baird. Knighted for all of internet eternity in JessiLand for endless patience, continued friendly fielding of neurotic and irrational phone calls, support, encouragement, pleasant wake up visits, delicious dinners and stellar career advice. I here-by grant you Knight status. Sorry, I don't have a horse to give you just yet. I'm still developing resources.

More Knights to come. Oh by the way, Richard Gere of First Knight is way more Knight-worthy than that Heath Ledger (of A Knight's Tale) who is a bad actor and just sort of icky in general. Was Robin Hood an actual knight? If so, Kevin Costner gets best Knight nods from me...though it is important to mention his career went very emphatically downhill after Prince of Thieves. There are some good folks in that movie...including Morgan Freeman, who needs to quit doing psychological thrillers. Talk about typecasting, sheesh. If I see one more movie with him as some version of almost-but-not-quite retired detective who agrees reluctantly to help a rookie on "one last case" to finally get the biggest and baddest of bad guys...if I see it again, I will...oh I don't know....probably watch it and be predictably disappointed. Also in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves is Allan Rickman...aka Professor Snape of Harry Potter fame. I know he's kind of not exactly a good guy in the story...but I like him anyway. Don't worry, I'm not going to Knight him or anything...I'm just sayin'.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!