click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:48 p.m. - 2004-06-01
how not to live
So, there's been a lot of conversations going around about how a lot of people feel that the key to life is something along the lines of "do whatever you want, if it makes you happy and doesn't hurt anyone else." Some recent and interesting conversations have not come to an end without that sentence in various forms emerging at some point. I am certain that is not the key to life. But I couldn't put it the reason into perfect words....I was working on it, but it never came. Well, fortunately, it didn't have to. Some smart dude wrote this and Michele shared it on her blog recently (sorry, if I back up to her page to see his name, I will lose the precious words in this text box...I know, that is monumentally lame but I'm supposed to be working anyway).

You cannot live for your own pleasure and your own convenience without inevitably hurting and injuring the feelings and the interests of practically everybody you meet. But, as a matter of fact, in the natural order no matter what ideals may be theoretically possible, most people more or less live for themselves and for their own interests and pleasures or for those of their own family or group, and therefore they are constantly interfering with one another's aims, and hurting one another and injuring one another, whether they mean it or not."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!