click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:28 p.m. - 2004-06-01
it's a twister...
I wish everyday I had a room full of people for Catherine Loya to read my web blog out loud to: It's much more entertaining that way.

On Sunday, I spent half of the afternoon in an airport bathroom with 40 other people, after having been ushered in there by security personnel due to a tornado warning. Definition: A Tornado Warning is issued when a tornado has actually been sighted or is indicated by radar. This was a little unnerving. I made the mistake of calling my parents, knowing they would be incredibly disappointed if I died and hadn't called them first. Of course, after I had to hang up because my cell phone's battery was low, my father spent the next three hours with his stomach in knots, picturing me being sucked up inside a twister accompanied by a small black Cairn Terrier. There were several voicemails by the days end, with phrases like "stay alert" and "Keep away from the windows" and "call us as soon as you get home" and I can only imagine how many hang ups. When will I learn? Will I worry incessantly about my children? I will probably worry that they will be attacked by spiders in their sleep...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!