click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:37 a.m. - 2004-05-10
Bono is 44
Today is Bono's birthday.

Let's all pause and think about how great he is for a minute. Some of the best lyrics of the last 25 years have come out of this man's head...and some of the most vocal advocacy for impoverished people, too. I can't believe he's 44 years old! He is actually looking a bit peaked these days...his wife Ali doesn't look a day over 30, and she's just about the same age as he is....I guess all that rock star partying and schmoozing with politicians catches up with you faster than rearing four children and raising money for the children of Chernobyl. Did you know that Bono and Ali went to Africa together for 6 weeks to volunteer at an orphanage about 20 years ago? That is partly what started this whole Africa crusade he's been on about for quite some time (that sentence sounds kind of Irish). Anyway, if you want to wish Bono happy birthday, you can contribute to the build-a-well fund in his name. see www.atu2.com I think they still have some details up about it there.

Go Bono! May we all be as cool and social justice oriented as you are at 44. And may we know when it is time to cut our hair instead of slicking it back like you are doing right now and which frankly, looks awful.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!