click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 p.m. - 2004-03-25
cranky old people
Tonight, I had the pleasure of meeting Katie Meyer's sister Jessica Meyer. Man, can that girl tell a story. Wow! I also had the pleasure of meeting a person whose main job is to know everything there is to know about B-26 bombers from WW II. How unusual and somehow compelling. Trust me, it was. My job is to know everything about planning meetings for retired volunteers. I find the best meetings involve cut up apples (the dentures make it hard to eat them whole) strong coffee (makes them livelier) sugar and carb free things like nuts (because half of them are on the Atkins diet) documents printed in 14 point font (because otherwise, they squint and take their glasses on and off and sigh in exasperation) and explicit directions to the location, including very specific parking instructions, because I get about twenty phone calls if the parking situation is not addressed. When I get old, will I get cranky and apprehensive about parking?

It's the city, People. Parking is a pain. Period. That's the nature of parking. You just learn to leave fifteen minutes early to account for block circling, under-breath swearing, determing just how far you are willing to walk in the rain and calculating the exact possibility of you getting a ticket, should your meter run out.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!