click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:19 p.m. - 2004-03-21
xanadu
Last night I went roller skating. I wore an 80's inspired outfit that consisted of a bright green hoodie with white stripes and a red w/ white stripes mini skirt with red leg warmers and a red visor with my hair in a bouncy springy happy pony tail. I looked very hot, as you can imagine. Probably the best part of the day was when I had to leave my house and walk through my neighborhood to my car in this getup, unaccompanied. See, it's one thing to be in a group of people, or even be out and about in the city at night dressed funky...but when you're on your own at 6 in the afternoon, in a residential neighborhood albeit, one that is only a few bloks from the part of town where all of the "interesting" people hang out...it's a bit daunting. AND I had to walk past a large group of people who had evidently recently returned from a ski trip. OF COURSE there was a group of people, standing around right outside my house for me to walk past, because that's how it goes....I looked somewhere between an insane tennis player and one of the street kids who hangs out on broadway. When you're dressed up like that, there's a temptation to explain to people...but unless you have a short one-sentence explanation, you're better off just avoiding eye contact. "yeah, I'm on my way to a roller skating costume party for my friend's 29th birthday...." doesn't really cut it and just makes things more awkward.....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!