click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:28 p.m. - 2004-03-21
sit still
Friday night my car was towed. It cost me one hundred and eighty big ones, at teh end of the day. Enter most offensive expletives you can think of here: &%*#$#&%@#*&@#*$&@$#!!!!!!

Ah, that felt nice. Let's reflect for a mature moment on the fact that if this had happened one year ago, I probably would have had to have moved into a homeless shelter, due to my finances. I am blessed to be able to (just barely) cover it. No shopping this month!

Tonight, at church, I met some nice people. Tonight, the pastor....wonderful, wonderful Richard Dahlstrom was talking about how in order to experience joy, you have to not be afraid to fully experience sorrow. Because sometimes (often? always?) real joy happens, due to being lifted out of real sorrow. Can we really know joy without knowing sorrow first? I'm not sure. He talked a lot about how we hide from sorrow. I think I do that. I choose not to dwell in it, because moving forward and pressing onward seems more productive/successful/efficient/sensible etc. I'm not very good at sitting still....literally or emotionally. VBut I'm thinking that during that whole sittinng still thing is where some good stuff happens. Maybe I'll try it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!