click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:25 p.m. - 2004-03-09
sushi
This is about sushi. This is for my readers (she says as though there are thousands) who have never tried sushi or think they don't like it.

See, I never thought I would like it. But I really do. This is partly due to CJ and Keith's affection for it, which has resulted in me eating homemade sushi on several occasions. When I say "sushi" I'm not talking about raw fish. I'm talking about california rolls, vegatable rolls, etc. See, when I first tried it, I was so hung up on the raw fish thing, that I didn't even think about what I was tasting, and I assumed, for some reason that the blackish/greenish skin-type matter on the outside of the roll was in fact, fish skin. I thought the whole piece was actually a cross section of a round shaped fish. That did not seem like something you should eat. However, I am now aware that it is actually seaweed wrap on the outside, which tastes good, as long as you don't imagine you are eating raw fish skin. The inside is yummy rice and veggies. I particularly like the cucumber roll, which is nothing more than rice, cucumer and sesame seeds wrapped in a piece of seaweed, formed into a roll and cut in slices. Other scary looking things you may find near your rolls are: Wasabi. This is a green paste that is VERY spicy (don'ty eat it alone, or even think about spreading it liberally on the roll), but when mixed at a ratio of about 1:4 with soy sauce (provided with the meal) and the rolls are dipped conservatively in the mixture, it delivers a nice kick. The mixture of brown soy sauce and green wasabi becomes thinner and browner, the more soy sauce you add. I like it about the color of canned peas and the consistency of mustard. However, I like dangerously spicy food, so experiment with caution. Also on the plate: shavings of pink or beige skin-like matter. Don't be afraid. This is just ginger. It is sweet and tangy and can be eated with the sushi or in between sushi bites as a palate cleanser. So....the moral of the story is: TRY IT. It's cheap, good for you, delicious and it fills you up. Two rolls make for a filling lunch and costs about 4.50. Happy experimenting.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!