click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:02 p.m. - 2004-03-08
gay and naked
Well, a crazy week it has been. Bethany and I drove down to Portland to be witnesses at the wedding of Vanessa and Samantha, our friends who have been together for years, and hoping to get married for most of that time. It was wonderful to support them, and be a part of history, though it was exhausting, considering I had just returned from a work trip to Portland, 24 hours before. But travelling with Bethany is always fun, no matter what we're doing.

Today I attended the mayor of seattle's short-notice press conference, regarding his stance on gay marriage. He has extended all of the rights that married city employees have, to gay married couples. For example, if you worked for the city and went down to Portland (where it is now legal to get married to a person of the same sex) to get married, your marriage would be recognised in the city of seattle, particularly if you are a city employee. The Mayor has no control over whether marriages can be performed and whether marriage licenses can be issued in this county, but he is urging the county decision makers to pass this legislation. Crazy, interesting times.

I joined a gym this week. They have a steam room, a sauna and a hot tub that I can't figure out if you are supposed to use naked or not. Basically, I went to check it out after my work out, and there was a naked lady in there, which kind of surprised me...and was also awkward because since I wasn't wearign my glasses, I had to squint to see if she was really naked, which looked weird. I think she had her eyes closed, but I can't be sure. Anyway, I decided that naked was the way to go, since the person currently using it was naked. But once I got in the hot tub, I kind of freaked out thinking "oh no, what if that woman is like, the only person who goes in naked and everyone else wears bathing suits and talks about how weird it is that she goes in naked." Still not sure about this one. I guess I could ask at the front desk. I dont' really like to discuss nakedness with strangers....but then again, here I am typing that word over and over again in a semi-public format. Naked. Naked. Naked. I guess it's not so bad.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!