click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:53 a.m. - 2004-03-04
the trip to Portland
I spent the last three days in a hotel in Portland, Oregon with old people, in bars with a really cool friend of Batheny's, and a total of 6.5 hours in a car with a woman who was apparently constantly haveing hot flashes because in cold, grey 40 degree weather, she had her window all the way down, travelling 65 MPH down I-5 all the way to Portland and back. She also breathes really heavy and gets out of breath a lot, from like, walking to the printer, or getting out of a chair. But she let me listen to whatever music I wanted, which was nice.

Here is what I chose: Rattle and Hum, U2; Janet, Janet Jackson; Joshua Tree, U2; Best of Simon and Garfunkle; Our Time in Eden, 10,000 Maniacs; a mix tape featuring Hole, Julianna Hatfield, Live, James and REM and last but not least, a solid hour of David Sedaris, the dry, gay, funny, sarcastic fellow we know an dlove from NPR.

Note: If we don't know and love him, we will quickly GET to knowing and loving him, won't we? Proceed immediately to...umm...wherever you can get David Sedaris stuff. In my case, that would be Liz Cooke.

One other thing....although pretty much anyone that you woudl want to hang out with would think Davis Sedaris is funny, do exercize a bit of caution...I got a little uncomfortable sitting in a car with a 50 year old african American woman (though she is highly liberal and open and would describe herself as VERY progressive and hip) Though David's humor moves along a path that is a far cry from low-brow or characteristically crass, there are some moments...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!