click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:35 a.m. - 2004-02-20
nector of the gods
I am getting the feeling no one is reading this. I also feel like that probably shouldn't matter. Does it or doesn't it? Hmm. I am going to start writing very private scandelous things on here, since no one is reading it, anyway. Wait a second, that ill-conceived passive agression won't even work. Nevermind. No scandelous romance-novel worthy excerpts to see here. Ooh, my coffee is done. Michele (hang on...)Mmm....coffee. Anyway, Michele said in her diary (see senorcoconut.diaryland.com)....not that she updates it very often, but anyway...she said in her blog (i hate that word...it sounds crass. i'll leave it at that) that she is a coffee snob. I think we all are. It just happens when you move here. The only acceptable forms of coffee come from the trees they grow it on out here, or a magical place called Casa Nueva, nestled in the heart of Appalachia. Actually, the tree thing is a lie. And anyway, it's not as much about the beans as it is about the PREPARATION. Now, takes notes here people. There is no such thing as Maxwell house. Repeat. There is no such thing as Maxwell House.

Ok. Now, a perfect cup of coffee comes from the following process. Beans should look dark and kind of oily. They should always be stored in azn airtight, lightproof container, and for pete's sake, DO NOT put the beans, ground or otherwise into the freezer or the refrigetator. WHY do people do this???OK. So, the beans should then be ground immediately before brewing. Finer grind yields darker coffee. Approximately 2 tablespoons should be used per cup, give or take.....giving is better than taking...darker is better than lighter, I think. So, brew it how you like but keep this in mind: drip is fine. French press is better in my opinion, but I was recently told that since coffee beans contain oil, they also contain fat, and since french presses don't filter, they allow that normally seperated oil to go into your cup and into your mouth, and into your fat cells, making them bigger. Isn't that annoying? Anyway, one final important tip. If you leave the coffee on the burner or pot for more than ten minutes after it was brewed, it will be 1. stale and 2. burnt. Don't bother drinking it.

Well, that is all. My coffee that I am drinking right now, is perfect by the way. You should try Silk soy creamer....not the soy MILK...the soy CREAMER. It is delicious.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!