click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:52 p.m. - 2004-02-17
efficiency
A seattle moment:

Yesterday, I was walking down the sidewalk in the rain, on Pike, near Bauhaus, where I was meeting with one of my clients for my new resume writing, career consulting business. Yes, if you can believe it, people are paying ME to help them figure out what to do with the rest of their lives. Anyway, as I was approaching the coffee house, I noticed a man walking toward me, in the rain mind you, holding his open lap top with one hand and using the other hand to type. Now, that is a person who is concerned with efficiency...and you thought I was bad. I am pretty bad though...I realized the other day that I have managed to streamline the first four minutes of my day in the office, so that I maximize the time it takes for the computer to boot up...I turn on the computer, run back into the kitchen to grind the beans for coffee with one hand and fill up the cofee pot with water with the other, come back into the cube and type in my password, and simultaneously pick up the phone to check my voicemail while the computer checks my password, etc. I click on my email icon and wait for that to come up as I record my voice messages in a word document. In Outlook it takes a few seconds for all of the emails to pop up on screen, so I dash back to grab my coffee while the emails are popping up. My goal is to do all of this in 4 minutes. Is this normal?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!