click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:26 p.m. - 2004-02-13
our bubble called America
Did you know...

In India, an estimated 25,000 brides are killed or maimed every year over dowry disputes. Meaning, the groom's family wants a bigger dowry, the bride's family refuses or simply can't pay it, so the men in the groom's family wait until she's alone on the street, or they sneak in and take her from her family's home and drag her into the street and set her on fire as a means to shame the family. I have a new acquaintance from India who fled her country when she was 17 for this reason (not wanting an arranged marriage, and not wanting to fear for her life during her entire engagement.)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!