click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:53 a.m. - 2004-02-01
katie's butt
OK, so last night I went out with Renea, Michele and Katie. We went to Post Alley to see Theater Sports, an improv comedy show...which, by the way, I would highly recommend. For a mere $7.50 you are in for a truly entertaining evening.

Anyway, we were standing outside, around 10pm on first avenue, which is a pretty shady area, though not overtly dangerous by any means. We were basically killing time, since we had arrived early. We relocated down the sidewalk toward Pike Market a bit, to get away from this drunk man who was bothering Katie (harmless, but annoiying) We walked a half block or so away and stopped, and the four of us continued chatting. Moments later, while we were talking, out of the corner of my eye, I saw these two large, normal-looking 20-something hispanic-looking women approaching. Before I could register what was happening, and certainly before I could react, one of the women came purposefully toward Katie, (from behind her) and said in a spanish accent "Ooh, girl, that is NICE!" and simultaneously smacked Katie's rear end with a very loud, very firm "THWACK!"...and kept right on walking. I will never forget the look of disbelief in Katie's eyes, who did not see this coming and who said "OW!", and the horrible feeling I had, from seeing it coming and not being able to do anything about it. I mean, the one split second I had after I realized, I guess I just thought "surely not...oh NO she did!" Had they been just a bit smaller, I may have been willing to "address" this issue with them...but I was pretty intimdated by thier sheer chutzpah and obvious confidence that a bunch of relatively little white girls weren't gonna mess with them. I was 50% horrified that my dear friend had been assaulted before my very eyes and 50% delighted that I had witnessed such an unbelievable occurance that I could have the pleasure of recounting any time there's a lull in conversation at a party.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!