click here for my SOCIAL JUSTICE BLOG
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:23 a.m. - 2004-01-26
HELL HOUSE: a review.
If you have a rainy afternoon and not much to do, go to your local video rental establishment and pick up HELL HOUSE. It is a facinating documentary on the folks from the Trinity church in Texas, who put on an elaborate haunted house every year, designed to "Scare the Hell out of you." These Pentacostal freaks (and I use that term affectionately) are filmed in a way that captures both their earnest faith and their over-the-top evangelism. It will really pull you in and stick with you. I went into it, generally being disgusted and negative toward these types of people/churches/projects, but came away from it with a bit more understanding and respect for what they are trying to do. I might not agree with their methodology and likely disagree on some theology; I wouldn't attend that church. But (while there were a few unfortunate comments and alot of rampant, uninterpreted speaking in tongues) there were quite a few church members shown in the film that I would like to have dinner with or would agree to babysit for. Check it out. (and don't forget to sign my guestbook!) Upper left hand corner, if you didn't notice it!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!